1. Senior Member
    Stats
    6'0"  220 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    9.61%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

Group Discussion: Why we do what we do.

So I've been thinking, especially since I've been frequenting the board much more lately, why do I lift weights? Why did I begin in the first place? What keeps me going? What are my goals and what do I get out of doing it? Let's all be honest here. Everyone has specific reasons. Some do it to feel good about how they look. A few do it to impress the opposite sex. Others may do it to compete, whether it is in bodybuilding shows or power lifting competitions. Maybe it’s a combination of things.

Let me start. I started training with weights in high school because I had a negative self image of myself. I had low self esteem and felt kind of goofy. I was tall, had big feet, but was pretty skinny. Think sideshow Bob. Not only that, but I planned on joining the Marines so I wanted to be “in shape.” After a while it just sort of grew on me. It got to the point where I HAD to go to the gym. In fact, that’s how it is now. It’s like an addiction for me. Honestly, I don’t lift to push around a ton of weight. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a strong guy, but that isn’t my primary focus. I like to feel good about me. I like the confidence it gives me. Women like men who are in shape as opposed to men who aren’t. Women are more attracted to physically superior men. It says a lot about who you are and it definitely gets you noticed. And it’s just plain healthy. I can never see myself not working out in some way or another. I have some decent size, but I would like to add some more mass to my frame while staying as lean as I am now. Not to the point where it effects my ability to run or participate in athletics’ (I notice as my weight increases, pain in my joints increase as well), but just enough to satisfy me.