Retail Supplement Stores

1. Registered User
    Stats
    6'0"  265 lbs.
    Answers

Retail Supplement Stores

Okay fellas, my dad has been thinking about opening a retail supplement shop but I have very little knowledge on this. He's been trying to convince me to get in with him but I don't know if quitting grad school and possibly my day job is worth the risk. Here are some of my questions. Any info is appreciated.

1. Is this actually profitable enough after all the costs are taken into account ?

2. Is the retail supplement industry able to sustain economic difficulties ?

3. How tough would it be to compete with giants like Costco, GNC, Vitamin World, and Vitamin Shoppe ?

4. What is the actual success rate of independent retail supplement stores ?

5. How much would it actually cost to open a modest retail store ?

2. Banned
    Answers

I've thought about this many a time. Just opening up my own store. I saw a supplement giant by my house right next door to a GNC and it ran better than the GNC due to it's sales in pro-hormones and other products that GNC doesn't have.
    Plus it had a better selection than GNC.
  3. Board Sponsor
    Answers

From what my friends have told me that run their own businesses, it is extremely stressful even though you do not have management above you breathing down your next. The responsibilities really weigh on you. I weigh profit as more than just monetary but profit over stress, so you may be making some money but if it means working saturday and sunday and coming home to paperwork and taxes it may not be worth it. As for competing with the biggies, you can do it but with the huge increase in the cost of whey and egg products currently, the startup cost would be enormous and the cut in prices you would have to initiate to draw new business would make it a tough first year. I would recommend if you did want to go through with it I would suggest waiting until the market recovers first.
    •   

4. Registered User
    Stats