Changing careers...maybe

PumpingIron

Awards
  • Established
Okay, so I am pretty damn young @ 23. I graduated with my BA in Business and Economics 2 years ago and have floated around the same company (a major US bank) in 3 different positions in those 2 years. My salary has gone up each move but the level of responsibility seems to have fallen off. Even so, this just doesn't seem to be working for me. I have been contemplating a move to go back to school and pursue my MBA in Finance and hopefully move into the investment banking realm. But I'm not sure that's right for me either.

The only thing I have been passionate about since I left high school 6 years ago has been Health/Fitness and Nutrition. I am thinking about taking a step back and looking into changing career paths, and I believe it should be much easier to do it at my age.

I guess the first step, without going back to college would be looking into getting my personal training cert. So what is the best one? And what would I be looking at in terms of compensation? Also, I would love to get my nutritionist license. I'm not sure what that would entail. Anyone out there have this? Whats the process in getting this? Whats the compensation like for this? And for both together?

I am kind of afraid to go back to school for Exercise and Sports Science (or something along those lines), to be completely honest with you. Although it could be a part-time option.

I am just looking to get some unbiased oppinions...

bioman

bioman

Awards
  • Established
I've thought about the fitness option myself but I am not certain if I could put up with problematic clients (ie whiners) in a diplomatic way. 95% of personal training seems to be more about psychology than anything else, lol.

Hopefully, some of our cert trainers will chime in.

jminis

jminis

Awards
  • Established