Arm/Forearm pain

RBakerian

Awards
Hi everyone, this is my first post on here. Here’s a bit of a backlog.

I have been working out for about 3 years on and off, more off than on.. but about 12 weeks ago I started working out very seriously. 5 times a week, with a friend who knows his stuff, and has been working out for four years heavily.

I have been getting this really bad pain in my outer forearms, and its usually when I am doing doing a set, and release the weight. Now I read on here, and it seems fairly common. But the pain lasts, now, into the next day, and my right arm is really bothering me.. I stopped doing flat curls as they hurt too much. I have been using moist heat, and I picked up some glucosamine and cod liver oil yesterday that I have been taking. Along with theragesic. I also ordered some Cissus RX hoping it will help.

I take protein, and Muscle Tech’s NAN0.. along with GAKIC. Was taking creatine as well. I’m thiking I did too much too fast, and my biceps got stronger than my arms/forearms are. I have really transformed in the past 3 months. Is there anything I can do? Did I tear something? Tendonitis?

meowmeow

Awards
  • Established
You have Humeral stress periostitis. The arm equivalent of "shin splints". It usually comes from doing heavy curls and usually relieved by stopping Barbell curls or even EZ curls for a while. Some even stop direct bicep work for a while.

Here is a medical device that can be used to help prevent this problem in the future.

Exercise Stik

Compact, durable upper extremity exerciser strengthens forearms, wrists and fingers. Excellent for improving supination/ pronation post wrist fracture. Easily adjusts from near zero to resistance that requires isometric contraction. Foam grips.

Exercise Stik

Basically you want to strengthen the muscle that runs along the bone of your forearm on the pinky side.