Financial Advice.

xxtruxx1

xxtruxx1

Awards
  • Established
Being a college student, I don't have a whole hell of a lot of money. I've always wanted a bike & here in Gainesville, it would be great for getting around instead of using my car (2001 Toyota Seqouia aka THE TANK!). That thing guzzles gas & is killing me. Plus there is NEVER any parking anywhere for that car. I usually take the bus to school, but it's been on the full side this semester to the point where 4 full busses pass me as I wait to get to class. All these things have been pushing me to get a bike. Now the problem, I don't have $5,700 off hand. I was thinking about putting the bike on my card (10k limit) & paying it off as money came in. I don't know if the interest is going to kill me here. I'm pretty confused as to how the rates work exactly (hence why I'm no business major). The bike costs $5,700 for a 2004 Suzuki GSX-R 600 with 7k miles. Let's just round to $6200 for arguments sake (helmet, jacket, possibly gloves, & shipping). Here is what my percentages on my last statement look like:

Balance Subject to Finance Charge Periodic Rate Nominal APR
PURCHASES
Standard Purch $0.00 0.04997%(D) 18.240% 36.000%
ADVANCES
Standard Adv $0.00 0.06367%(D) 23.240% 23.240%

Would I be paying interest up the ass? I plan on having most of the bike, if not all of it paid off near December. Would I be better off getting an advances than charging it on the card (I won't get flier miles though)? I really don't want to let this deal go by, so help a brother out.

Pfunk47

Pfunk47

Pop-Lock champion of 84'
Awards
  • Established
those are pretty high interest rates - if you mean you'll have it paid off in 3 months then I wouldn't sweat it as you'll pay about $200 in interest charges but if you mean in 14 months your looking at about $1200 in extra interest.

if this is mainly for campus cruzing etc - get a $700 moped - college = no money and you may need to that full 10K for something really important

xxtruxx1