NEW TO THE SITE

homer55

Awards
Hi everybody,

I'm new to this site and I figured I'd introduce myself. I'm 50, weigh 165 lb, 5'10" so I'm not a "big guy." My weight really hasn't changed much in the last 20 years. I've been lifting on and off since I was 14. Mostly off, but I've put in about 6 to 8 solid years of lifting. I've been working out consistently for about the last three years, with occasional breaks due to injury.

At my age, exercise is a constant struggle with injury. I consider it a good workout if I can get out of the gym without hurting myself. I have recurring injuries to my shoulders, back, knees and feet. It sucks getting old but I figure you just have to keep fighting. The alternative is to just waste away.

A biographical note, I've always been interested in bodybuilding and weightlifting. I first became interested in weights when I saw a picture of Harold Poole doing the most muscular pose in a muscle magazine in 1967. I was 12. I know it was 1967 because my family had gone to Montreal that summer for Expo '67. Yeah, I'm old as dirt.

The sport has gone from a bunch of guys hammering away in garages and small gyms to a huge industry driven by $$$. Now, it's big business -- the supplement business. I think it is a little sad. I mean, muscle magazines today are chock full of one ridiculous supplement ad after another. But I still love going to the gym and working out.

My two cents worth about steroid and PH use. I don't necessarily have a problem with it and I think our society's approach to these substances is absurd. I'm more of a libertarian than some, I think, and I believe you should let consenting adults do what they want as long as they don't hurt anyone else. But I think there is a lot of stupidity out there. I see people on these internet boards who are doing things that are really dumb. But its a free country. (Less so recently but still...) More thoughts on this later.