Superstitions, Rituals, Ticks

FOCUS

Board Supporter
Awards
Baseball players are famous for superstitions and pre-game rituals but I'm betting weight lifters have twice as many.. Anyone have a certain meal just for back day? Gotta have that crusty t shirt that you wore when you broke a PR on military presses eight years ago?(just examples) Some other crazy ass, non reasonable tick? Or it just my OCD acting up?:sick: I have a few of them, mostly unnoticeable to anyone else. But I have one that is just plain rediculous..

When I started lifting I was horrible at squats. I could not get the feel for the motion at all and my natural balance has always been poor.. One leg day I was running late and forgetting my clothes I ended up in the squat rack in jeans and work boots. And wouldn't you know it, I nailed every squat. It was so stoked because it had become so frustrating to me that I dreaded leg day and would skip it often.

Now I work out at home in my garage so I never have to be late. But you'll find me there every leg day in jeans and boots squatting like a lunatic LOL

bioman

bioman

Awards
  • Established
Shoes seem to make a huge difference for me on squats. I have my "special" pair..a pair of Merrel hikers that have really stiff soles.

I have a couple of tees that I wear that I know must look awful. I wore them when I just started lifting like 9 years ago and now I've filled them out pretty well. I should throw them out but they have mojo, lol.

For DB bench presses I have to have just the right music and I have to clang the Db's together 3 times in order to get a good set.

That's about the extent of my OCD behaviorisms. lol

BingeAndPurge

BingeAndPurge

Awards
  • Established