anybody wear contacts

ironviking

The Axe Man Cometh!!
Awards
  • Established
I was thinking about switching to contacts. I'm really tired of wearing glasses but I've heard some bad stories with contacts. Can anyone post thier experiences with them or have any opinions about either glasses or contacts.

glenihan

Awards
  • Established
i've been wearing contacts since 5th grade and i graduated college last year ... never have had an problems ... definitely prefer them 10000x over glasses, the difference in clarity is remarkable ... that said i'm going to get that laser eye surgery as soon as i can

Beowulf

Beowulf

Awards
  • Established
i've been wearing contacts since 5th grade and i graduated college last year ... never have had an problems ... definitely prefer them 10000x over glasses, the difference in clarity is remarkable ... that said i'm going to get that laser eye surgery as soon as i can
I agree 100%. I've had contacts since 8th grade. The most noticeable thing is peripheral vision. With glasses you are forced into having tunnel vision. Contacts are the best, especially if your vision is very poor.

lifted

lifted

Awards
  • Established
Been wearing glasses since I was 2....contacts since I was like 14 or so. I still wear my glasses in the evening, etc if I'm not going out or anything. And usually wear the glasses at least 2 days out of the week. You shouldn't wear contacts all the time as they can be bad for you. Oxygen needs to be let in and contacts will inhibit this from happening. I know a guy that had a ulcer on his eyes from wearing them too often, so there is definaltey a risk. But IMHO, it's very small and definatley worth it.

Beowulf

Beowulf

Awards
  • Established
I have been wearing 2 week disposables for years. They are much thinner than traditional contacts, and therefore (purportedly) let more air to the eye, so you do less of this :blink:.

t_dot_porkchop

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established