personal training certification

pistol345

pistol345

Awards
  • Established
Hey everyone. I'm interested in becoming a certified personal trainer. I've been training and researching on my own for a couple years now and I've made incredible gains and changed my body and life for the better. I've been working at a gym for the last 18 months and totally immersed myself in exercise. I've trained a couple of my buddies and gotten them into the best shape of their lives and I feel confident that I can succeed as a PT.
I'm getting ready to move to TN to attend college, and I'm hoping I can find work as a CPT. There are a ton of different 4 letter organizations that will certify you, and my local YMCA is offering a 3 day personal training course with the AFAA. Anybody have any experience with the AFAA, and will I be able to find a job with their certification?

Seems like a 3 day course wouldn't provide enough info to create a true CPT, but I feel comfortable with the knowledge I already have.

Thoughts/ opinions?

Thank you in advance

McCrew530

McCrew530

Awards
Hey man the three day course is a great entry level cert, I did something similar I got the NASM book and halfway through studying got my NESTA cert as a pre test of sorts. It will get you on the board as well. People love to see trainers who have a few different certs, it will make you look more credible. IMO a collage degree in kinesiology is a waist of money if you are just going to do personal training, if you are going into physical therapy or sports medicine that is a different story.

pistol345

pistol345

Awards
  • Established