Question about becoming a trainer/strength coach

1. New Member
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    70%

Question about becoming a trainer/strength coach

I was wondering if any of the strength coaches and trainers out there could give any advice to a college student that wants to take that path. Where do I start? Are there internships out there for that or do I just shadow people? Are there graduate programs for this? I'm majoring in sport leadership at Ohio state now, is that enough or do I need more specialized schooling? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. Advanced Member
    Stats
    6'0"  198 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    65.47%

Check with the peeps in charge of strength and conditioning at your school, they probably have unpaid internships just like you said. I almost took one for the summer but my plans changed. Think it'd be a great learning experience for ppl like us...good luck
  3. Advanced Member
    Stats
    5'11"  235 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    58.28%

You don't have to go to college to be a personal trainer. You can get certified through some accredited places like ACE, NSCA, NGA, NASM, NFPT, ISSA. Just look up those organizations and find the one that's right for you. I'm certified through NSCA and NASM, which are the two most highly recognized but also the hardest. I also have a CSCS from NSCA, but you have to have a bachelors degree in any field to take it. I've heard that ACE is pretty easy for newcomers getting used to the information and physiology. I'd start with them or NGA and then go into higher organizations after that.