Shaving: against the grain or not?

Whacked

Whacked

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
I have a thick and coarse beard and Ive been shaving for 25 years. Needless to say, I DESPISE IT. LOL

My job requires a clean shave so I only have weekends to SAVE MY FACE. Some times it's flat our bloody warfare.

I read you should never go against the grain. Any truth to this?

Also: Any other tips you all have learned over the years outside of the typical ones (HOT water prior, moisterizing big time,etc).

bdcc

bdcc

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
I don't have thicker facial hair than most but do get a shaving rash around my neck, especially when I let it grow a bit longer and take it to the skin.

Exfoliating makes a huge difference in terms of getting spots on my neck. That and tweezing any ingrown hairs.

bdcc

bdcc

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
P.S., can absolutely NOT shave against the grain unless I want my face to have a red rash all over it on that particular day.

prld2gr8ns

prld2gr8ns

Idiot Savant
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
I have a thick and coarse beard and Ive been shaving for 25 years. Needless to say, I DESPISE IT. LOL

My job requires a clean shave so I only have weekends to SAVE MY FACE. Some times it's flat our bloody warfare.

I read you should never go against the grain. Any truth to this?

Also: Any other tips you all have learned over the years outside of the typical ones (HOT water prior, moisterizing big time,etc).