respectable gains in 10-11months...?

soseg

soseg

Awards
  • Established
thought id post this in general chat...

just wondering on all your opinions regarding gains one should make in about 10-11 months (i started lifting december and will cut once november rolls around)... had some plateaus along the way with squat and bench...

but my question is... in that time frame, what would you guys say would be minimum, average and excellent gains in strength?

i started deadlifting at 220/240lbs roughly for about 5 reps and now can do about 375lbs with a goal of 440lb minimum for a 1rm by november... im happy but am wondering is this normal, good or average?

i know of a guy who in about 3-4months took his squat from 132lbs to 308lbs for 8reps... ridiculous... personally i plateaud around 220 and am just starting to break through it

my bench started roughly at 140lbs, currently at ~190/200 looking for 220+ by november...

so just state what you guys have achieved in roughly that time frame, or what you see as minimum goals one should aim for? (id presume new lifters gain more than advanced... otherwise a lifter of 20 years would be squatting ridiculous amounts if you could forever add 100lbs+ a year to your squat)

thanks

Zero V

Zero V

Awards
  • Established
I would say your gains are nice.

BTW for squatting platues, start doing wall sits and running up and down stairs with an extra 100lbs on you. Spend 45 minutes in a square foot stance, and see if your quads arent getting ready to rip through your skin haahah. I think the reason my quads used to be so strong was wrestling practice.

soseg

soseg

Awards
  • Established
nah im starting to go up again, had to lower 20lbs and switch from 5x5 and now to a 2x8... 8 for me is very high reps... and 5 sets just drained me hard... so this is working well im back to where i was and cant see it slowing down, form is much better at 220 and no leg buckling :D

tattoopierced1