high altitude / hyperbarick chambers

1. Registered User
    Stats
    6'0"  187 lbs.

high altitude / hyperbarick chambers

Just wondering whether anyone here knows much about these, knows of any bodybuilders / strength trainers who have had success with it?

I've googled it a bit and on other bodybuilding forums some people tend to shun it. Now... I'm a pilot, and personally I see no safety issues with sitting in a chamber set up to 14,000 feet. Here in Australia, and I presume most other countries the laws would be similar... pilots can fly unpressurized aircraft without extra oxygen supply up to 10,000 feet, while passengers only require it if unpressurized above 14,000. (safety factors are huge in aviation so 10k feet is a nice round number i presume just to be sure that performance is still 100%).

I'm asking because I just watched Bigger Strong Faster and saw the scene about the athlete who built himself what looked like a cheap hyperbaric chamber in his backyard and slept in it each night set to 13,000 feet... i cant remember whether he was a runner or a cyclist or what... but it helps, it helps your body become more efficient with oxygen, some other technical stuff, basically I think it increases your red blood cell count?

So my question is does anyone know of anyone or any stories of people who have done this, or anyone who is a possible doctor and knows anything regarding this?