Giving Blood - AnabolicMinds.com

Giving Blood

1. Senior Member

Question Giving Blood

I've never done this before and would like to on Thursday. I've read that it typically takes 45 mins...

Is there anything I need to know that might be useful for a bloody virgin?

What particular supplements need to be dropped (if any) beforehand?

2. Registered User
    Stats
    5'10"  185 lbs.

Be as hydrated as you can before you go it. This speeds up the process. Your RBC count (hematocrit) has a big effect on how fast you go. The lower the better. Eat a high carb meal before you go too.

Usually takes me about an hour and 15 minutes, but my hematocrit runs a bit high.
  3. New Member
    Stats
    6'2"  216 lbs.

The waiting process usually take the longest (from anywhere from 15-45 minutes, somtimes hgher) this also can depend on the organization. Then you have donor registration and and the actual blood donation. When I give blood I useuallly take less than 10 minutes for the actual blood draw. Do not pump so hard during the donation, do soft continues pumps. If you pump hard you may feel faint at the end of the donation. This is for a regular whole blood donation. Other types of donation are different. But it doesn't hurt and if it does not not hesitate to inform your technician that you are feeling discomfort.
    •   

4. Registered User
    Stats
    5'10"  185 lbs.

Yea I should clarify that what I said was true for donating Plasma, not whole blood. I've never given whole blood before.
  5. Senior Member

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by RedwolfWV View Post
    Yea I should clarify that what I said was true for donating Plasma, not whole blood. I've never given whole blood before.
    What are tha different benefits to each?

Would donating plasma help rid tha body of heavy metals / toxins like whole blood?

SUPPLEMENTS... what to drop? I would think fish oils could pose a problem. I'm dropping them after today, anything else?
  6. Registered User
    Stats