Bit by the tech bug

  1. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Bit by the tech bug


    Every few years I get bit by this bug and update to the latest hardware platforms.


    I've settled on building a machine based on an intel chipset, and CPU. I'm going with a P35 mobo, and Q6600 CPU, and I plan on OC'ing it a bit to 3.0-3.2 gigahertz if I can get g0 stepping. I've seen so many arguements about e7200 for buget, and e8400/8500 being superior for oc'ing versus quad core in games, but quad core is future proof so to speak.


    Anyways newegg has a deal on gskill ram. 2 gigz of ddr2 pc800 for 43$. I got a DFI LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS mobo btw. It has very good reviews, good stability, and OC'ing. I didn't need crossfire or SLI.


    I can't decide on the video card however. I'm looking to spend 200$ max on it, and I have my eye on the radeon 4850. Any thoughts?

    vid card:

    Newegg.com - ASUS EAH4850/HTDI/512M Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

    I'm using an Antec three hundred case, with NeoPower Blue 650W PS, 12v X 3 rails I believe, and modular.

    By the way, newegg has a good deal on a HD-DVD/Blu Ray Reader / DVD-RW drive for 125 bucks. This is currently not in my budget until I build an HTPC, but looks like a good deal. I believe they have an ASUS bluray burner for 150$, but it's out of stock.


    I also like this case:



  2. Board Moderator
    Never enough
    EasyEJL's Avatar
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    31,868
    Rep Power
    778115
    Level
    95
    Lv. Percent
    27.92%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity RoyaltyActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting Pro

    Really I think right now video card choices are tough in general. We're kind of close to another cusp and flip of versions, supporting the next version of directx in hardware.

    But looking at it, that card does seem to rock So i'd go with it. looks to be nice performance the whole way around. I was looking at anandtech, I trust them for video card reviews.
  3. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Word, it seems we're waiting for the next gen platforms, p53, and Core I7's, and even next gen nvideo and radeons.


    The bottle neck for games currently is the vid card. If you buy the most godly expensive card and have a system that can make it the bottle neck (pretty much any core duo above e2200, and ddr2 667+ ram), you still can't run crysis at ultra high settings and high resolution and get a smooth frame rate at 30+ frames.

    Check this out:

    http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...50aHVzaWFzdA==


    Spend 400-500 on a GTX280, and you still can't play crysis on the nicest settings.
    •   
       

  4. Advanced Member
    manifesto's Avatar
    Stats
    6'0"  218 lbs.
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    755
    Rep Power
    473
    Level
    22
    Lv. Percent
    40.26%

    Quote Originally Posted by CryingEmo View Post
    Every few years I get bit by this bug and update to the latest hardware platforms.


    I've settled on building a machine based on an intel chipset, and CPU. I'm going with a P35 mobo, and Q6600 CPU, and I plan on OC'ing it a bit to 3.0-3.2 gigahertz if I can get g0 stepping. I've seen so many arguements about e7200 for buget, and e8400/8500 being superior for oc'ing versus quad core in games, but quad core is future proof so to speak.


    Anyways newegg has a deal on gskill ram. 2 gigz of ddr2 pc800 for 43$. I got a DFI LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS mobo btw. It has very good reviews, good stability, and OC'ing. I didn't need crossfire or SLI.


    I can't decide on the video card however. I'm looking to spend 200$ max on it, and I have my eye on the radeon 4850. Any thoughts?

    vid card:

    Newegg.com - ASUS EAH4850/HTDI/512M Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

    I'm using an Antec three hundred case, with NeoPower Blue 650W PS, 12v X 3 rails I believe, and modular.

    By the way, newegg has a good deal on a HD-DVD/Blu Ray Reader / DVD-RW drive for 125 bucks. This is currently not in my budget until I build an HTPC, but looks like a good deal. I believe they have an ASUS bluray burner for 150$, but it's out of stock.


    I also like this case:


    Can you repeat that....?
    Armed to the teeth.
  5. Board Moderator
    Never enough
    EasyEJL's Avatar
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    31,868
    Rep Power
    778115
    Level
    95
    Lv. Percent
    27.92%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity RoyaltyActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting Pro

    for 150 after rebate, you've got me thinking about picking one of those up
  6. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by EasyEJL View Post
    for 150 after rebate, you've got me thinking about picking one of those up

    Those damn mail in rebates are a pain though.
  7. Board Moderator
    Never enough
    EasyEJL's Avatar
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    31,868
    Rep Power
    778115
    Level
    95
    Lv. Percent
    27.92%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity RoyaltyActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting Pro

    yeah, but still, thtats a nice price, and I bet id does a nice job of accelerating decoding x264 + vc1, and it has hdcp. would be nice for my living room pc
  8. Board Moderator
    Never enough
    EasyEJL's Avatar
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    31,868
    Rep Power
    778115
    Level
    95
    Lv. Percent
    27.92%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity RoyaltyActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting Pro

    on sale at best buy for 185

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1212192380309

    if you are a reward zone memeber or can find a coupon, easier since its local
  9. Elite Member
    SilentBob187's Avatar
    Stats
    5'9"  175 lbs.
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    7,851
    Rep Power
    11114
    Level
    57
    Lv. Percent
    25.58%
    Achievements Activity AuthorityActivity ProPosting ProPosting Authority

    Don't get a quad core. Currently programs/OS are running faster on dual core machines than they are quad core machines. They haven't been writing software with quad cores in mind just yet. Save a little money and stick to a dual core...and don't get me started on intel (save more money, go AMD)
    "I am legally blind and if I can Squat,deadlift and over all get myself to the gym then anyone can get their a$$ in gear and get strong!!" - malleus25
    WHITE WHALE!
  10. Board Moderator
    Never enough
    EasyEJL's Avatar
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    31,868
    Rep Power
    778115
    Level
    95
    Lv. Percent
    27.92%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity RoyaltyActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting Pro

    Well, I looked around, found a 3450 based card for $16 after rebate. should be perfect in my HTPC machine, its a p4 3.2ghz and kinda chokes up a little on x264/VC1 stuff at 1080p. With the new video card, should offload it all off the cpu.
  11. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by SilentBob187 View Post
    Don't get a quad core. Currently programs/OS are running faster on dual core machines than they are quad core machines. They haven't been writing software with quad cores in mind just yet. Save a little money and stick to a dual core...and don't get me started on intel (save more money, go AMD)


    I'd like to hear your arguement for this. I have heard both sides of the arguement, but I got a q6600 with g0 stepping, so you can OC it as well as a dual core, and at this point it will out perform it. I realize that quad cores aren't being fully utilized yet, but this will change very soon.


    I also used to be an AMD man myself. AMD just doesn't seem to be priced competitively however.
  12. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by EasyEJL View Post
    Well, I looked around, found a 3450 based card for $16 after rebate. should be perfect in my HTPC machine, its a p4 3.2ghz and kinda chokes up a little on x264/VC1 stuff at 1080p. With the new video card, should offload it all off the cpu.

    New egg has a Lite On drive for sale that plays blu ray and hd-dvd's, as well as can do lightscribe and burn in any DVD/CD format. It's 130 bucks w/ free shipping I believe.


    If you buy HD-DVD's now, you can get them at DEEP discount DVD for like 9 bucks a peice. Buy HD-DVD's, play them on the drive, and switch to blu ray when new movies come out that obviously aren't on HD-DVD's.
  13. Board Moderator
    Never enough
    EasyEJL's Avatar
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    31,868
    Rep Power
    778115
    Level
    95
    Lv. Percent
    27.92%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity RoyaltyActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting Pro

    already have an hddvd drive i was thinking about the bluray drive, but not really necessary
  14. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by EasyEJL View Post
    already have an hddvd drive i was thinking about the bluray drive, but not really necessary

    Only nessasary if you want to play future hi-def movies.
  15. Board Moderator
    Never enough
    EasyEJL's Avatar
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    31,868
    Rep Power
    778115
    Level
    95
    Lv. Percent
    27.92%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity RoyaltyActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by CryingEmo View Post
    Only nessasary if you want to play future hi-def movies.
    There are non-disc ways to watch high def movies
  16. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by EasyEJL View Post
    There are non-disc ways to watch high def movies

    True, but it's nice to have the ability and save the disk space of having them on a seperate disk. I also like the box and everything. You can always burn them too. Blu ray burners are around 199 now.
  17. Board Moderator
    Never enough
    EasyEJL's Avatar
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    31,868
    Rep Power
    778115
    Level
    95
    Lv. Percent
    27.92%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity RoyaltyActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting Pro

    yeah, I was looking at that. and the bluray read only drives (not the combo hddvd ones) are as low as $99. I can always toss one of those in later. I may move the hddvd drive into that htpc now that you mention it tho
  18. Elite Member
    Inarius's Avatar
    Stats
    6'2"  260 lbs.
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5,377
    Rep Power
    17439
    Level
    54
    Lv. Percent
    92.01%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting ProPosting Authority

    no reason not to go up in ram speed. I love my ddr2 1066.
    I have a p5k deluxe board with g.skill 2x2gb sticks. I have an e8500 and an 8800gt. I can play crysis on very high settings. It's sweet. I love the e8500 and would recommend it over the q6600. it's smaller and has newer technology.
    SFW and GFH
  19. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by Inarius View Post
    no reason not to go up in ram speed. I love my ddr2 1066.
    I have a p5k deluxe board with g.skill 2x2gb sticks. I have an e8500 and an 8800gt. I can play crysis on very high settings. It's sweet. I love the e8500 and would recommend it over the q6600. it's smaller and has newer technology.


    Crysis is optimised for 4 cores. I got a q660 with a low vid and g0 stepping, so i should be able to OC it to 3.6 ghz+
  20. Senior Member
    Nightwanderer's Avatar
    Stats
    5'6"   lbs.
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,307
    Rep Power
    735
    Level
    28
    Lv. Percent
    24.17%
    Achievements Posting Pro

    I thought one of the reasons people went with AMD (aside from being just as good and usually cheaper) over intel was that current intel designs are made to prevent/discourage overclocking attempts?
    EDIT: Should add that I was a bit of a pc tech junkie for a long while but i've been out of the loop for like two years
  21. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by Nightwanderer View Post
    I thought one of the reasons people went with AMD (aside from being just as good and usually cheaper) over intel was that current intel designs are made to prevent/discourage overclocking attempts?
    EDIT: Should add that I was a bit of a pc tech junkie for a long while but i've been out of the loop for like two years

    Things have changed a bit. Core 2 Duo's are decent overclockers, but most have locked multiplers, unless you buy insanely expensive Extreme version of the processor.
  22. Board Moderator
    Never enough
    EasyEJL's Avatar
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    31,868
    Rep Power
    778115
    Level
    95
    Lv. Percent
    27.92%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity RoyaltyActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting Pro

    and amd's perfmance has been piss poor the last few years, and often with ludicrous processor power requirements. some of the processors draw 125 watts now. and its not just an issue of raw power usage, but also of the amount of heat generated
  23. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by EasyEJL View Post
    and amd's perfmance has been piss poor the last few years, and often with ludicrous processor power requirements. some of the processors draw 125 watts now. and its not just an issue of raw power usage, but also of the amount of heat generated

    Yeah, and the argument of dollars per watt. Over the years, a processor that consumes more watt per ghz is that much more expensive.


    Back in the athlon XP and Socket A (478) days I was an AMD man. Now I'm a equal opportunity consumer.
  24. Professional Member
    CryingEmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3,080
    Rep Power
    1636
    Level
    39
    Lv. Percent
    38.94%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

    I ended up with a q6600, luckily g0 stepping. Fingers crossed for low VID.


    I will buy a core 2 duo e8600 when they're in the 150$ price range and compare performance.
  

  
 

Similar Forum Threads

  1. MUSCLE TECH CELL TECH HARDCORE pro series
    By bi0hazurd in forum Supplements
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 09:55 AM
  2. Cell Tech Creatine The Origins of Cell Tech Creatine
    By David Dunn in forum Supplements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2009, 06:03 PM
  3. CELL-TECH;NITRO-TECH. any good??
    By lightemup in forum Supplements
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 03-20-2008, 11:33 PM
  4. Replies: 60
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 03:41 AM
  5. VA Tech...
    By CRUNCH in forum News and Articles
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2007, 12:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Log in
Log in