Workouts For Beginners

1. Registered User
    Stats
    5'9"  175 lbs.

Workouts For Beginners

I'm looking for a good routine for a beginner. I'm not a complete noob to workouts, but I've never been hardcore either. I'm looking to bulk up but shed a little weight while I'm at it. I weight 170lbs and I'm about 5'9. Medium frame. What would be a good weeks workout/diet to start bulking up all around? I'm not sure I want to get ridiculously huge or anything yet, I just wanna get bigger and increase strength. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

BTW I have access to a full gym, and have a treadmill at home, so all types of exercise advise is welcome. Oh, and I'm a vegetarian! Thanks

2. Registered User

Here is an excellent beinners routine
    geocites.com/elitemadcow1/5x5_program_linear.htm
    I know the site is geocities.com If the link don't work try googling madcow's 5x5 routine or Bill starr's 5x5 routine
    they are both excellent beginner routines.I hope this helps
  3. Registered User

I wouldn't agree that 5x5 is a beg. routine. A beginner needs to focus on form and execution rather then sheer weight. 5x5 is more of a strength routine, it is the perfect way for a newby to lift for his ego, not his muscles.
    •   

4. Registered User
    Stats
    5'9"  175 lbs.

Thanks for the advise koi, I checked them both out and I like Starr's program, seems to have a simple, yet sensible progression that I'm sure I can handle. I've been doing about 80-100 crunches, bench pressing about 3 sets of 160lbs, and 3 sets of 140lbs butterflies a night for the past couple of weeks, so it shouldn't be too had to make the transition to this program. Really appreciate the advise!
  5. Jet

A simpler approach to 5x5 for beginners would be Rippetoe's program:
    http://www.t-nation.com/tmagnum/readTopic.do?id=1205058

I've only been on it for a couple of weeks, and I've already added 20 pounds to my squat
  6. Registered User
    Stats
    5'9"  175 lbs.