Boxing but not to compete

Elizzard

Elizzard

Awards
Hey guys! I want to start boxing on a heavy bag, and I'm trying to find a trainer or a boxing gym to learn how to properly train so that I can get a good workout from it. I'm not looking to ever compete, and I REALLY don't want to have to fight anyone. What should I do about this? It seems like all of the training gyms in my area are super serious about the programs they offer, and I'm just wanting to do this for fitness and fun.

karategirl

karategirl

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
Hey - If its just for fitness, then you can probably do most of the stuff at home.
Get yourself a bag and some gloves and hire a personal traininer for one or two sessions to show you the ropes. Everything else from there is pretty simple.
If you can't hang a bag, then I have a wavemaster at home, same principle, but you fill the base with water to keep it still when you hit it. Saves having to drill holes in your ceiling.
Are you sure you just want to do boxing? I bet you could find a good kickboxing class to attend at your local gym which would give you an all body workout.
Let us know your goals and we will try to help you.
Are yo sure you don't want to fight? :) Its fun :)
Your other choice is to pick up a couple of instructional boxing DVD's and learn from that.

Elizzard

Elizzard

Awards
I've done cardio kickboxing before and it was a good workout, but I used to punch around on a bag, and i remember how my abs and arms got real sore from it. I want some muscle gains from the boxing, plus I want to feel like a bad ass ;) But I want to learn how to do it right, so that's why I wanted some instruction. I'm located in the North Dallas (Texas) area.

I looked at the Wavemakers, are those really good? I'll be doing this alone, so I don't want to hit it and then have to move it back into place b/c it moved. I'll probably check out a used sports store and see what they have.