Reps, sets, etc.

vgenest66

Awards
hey guys,

i'm an 18 years old and i've been lifting weights for three years now. I read a lot about trainning every day on the internet and i must admit i learned a lot about trainning since i began. However, some stuff is still totally unclear to me since everyone's not saying the same thing. Here's my question :

i'm trainning right now 6 days a week
day1 : chest and back
2: legs
3: deltoids, biceps and triceps.
( 2 mins between sets)
My goal is to gain muscle mass.
Should I train less often ? If yes, how could i manage to do all the exercice ? etc etc

Thanks a lot !
:clean:

Jayhawkk

Jayhawkk

Legend
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
Diet will play a lot in your mass as well so make sure you hit that forum up and get that in check...

I know most people don't work back and chest on the same day because both are large muscle groups that involve opposite muscles in the arms. Effectively this is a total upper body workout.

1. Chest/bis or Chest/tris
2. Shoulders/traps or Shoulders/calves
3. Legs/forearms
4. Back/tris or back/tris or back/traps
Something like that or

1. Chest
2. Shoulders
3. Arms
4. Legs
5. Back
6. Calves/forearms
7. Rest

It can be done a million ways but you want to keep a decent amount of rest between body parts and you don't want to work too many large body parts together.

Reps and sets are also varied but I would say average is 3-4 sets of 6-10 reps with varying total sets for body parts as well. Some swear by 6-9 total sets and others up to 18 total sets.

A lot will be dependant on your genetics, recovery time, diet and intensity while training. You can't take someone's workout and expect the same results if they rest 5 minutes between sets or are balls to the wall in intensity if you don't have the same alignment. Search some and find out more and see peope who have your type of frame/build but it will take trial and error to get dialed in on what works for you.

Good luck man.

PVSkyHigh

PVSkyHigh