Squats, Wraps, and Belts

1. Board Supporter
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    78.21%

Squats, Wraps, and Belts

Hi all. I've been lifting about a year and a half, so I'm still a bit of a noob.

I've taken my sqaut from working with reps at 185 lbs to reps at 315 lbs.

I don't have any back or knee problems, and I'd like to keep it that way.

When do you think it is wise to start using knee wraps and/or belts? In highschool our coaches made us a use belt for everything.

2. Advanced Member
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    67.91%

if you are doing real squats (ie at least to parallel) for reps at 315 after lifting for a year, that is pretty impressive.

my question is: what is your GOAL?

powerlifting, olympic weightlifting, aesthetics, functional strength for other endeavors, etc.

depending on your answer to that question, the utility of belts and wraps would differ

goals defines means

however, as a general statement, i recommend using a belt on sets where you are using over 85% of max or so.

as for wraps? that depends. you cannot even use (any decently tight) wraps, if you are squatting OLer style (ass to grass), so again... it depends.
  3. Senior Member
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    49.89%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

i wouldnt hesitate to use either of the two. Really, what are you losing with using a belt? Some lower back strength? You can always work on that on its own. Knee wraps? Unless I hear a medical reason why not to use these two objects, I would use them to aid injury prevention. But do keep their use to heavy sets. (btw, I feel the same way about straps).
    Sage
    •   

4. Senior Member
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    97.97%

I haven't used a belt in well over a year, and never have used wraps. However, I believe it all depends on old/new injuries, and how much weight you are using, like jjjd talked about.