Rhomboids!

HATE

Awards
I posted on here a few weeks ago about problems I've been having with my shoulders. I went and talked to an athletic trainer on my campus and he told me that I have a muscular imbalance. I kinda had a feeling that is what the problem was. Like most weight lifters the front of my body is a lot stronger than the back. He also said my rhomboids are weak and that I really need to focus on pinching my shoulder blades when I pull. He also said to make sure that because of the way my scapulas are out of whack I need to avoid doing movements where my elbows go past my torso like with rows and pushups. I think im having a problem with really retracting my scapulas while not pulling my arms as far back. I've been doing batwing rows if anyone knows what those are. But even with those I see the guy in the video really pulling back and im trying to avoid that much range of motion because it bugs me. So is it possible to build the rhomboids without pulling the arms that far back? I had my friend put his hand on my back during the bat wing rows and I really pinched to get the contraction and he said I was getting it but during inverted rows I really pinched and he said I wasn't hitting it. Anyone have any input on this?

Sean1332

Sean1332

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
Look up Eric Cressey on YouTube. He has an obnoxious amount of shoulder movement type stuff because he works with a lot if MLB pitchers

PaulBlack

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
What is the shoulder problem(s) specifically? Pain, posture, inflexibility, weakness?

napalm

napalm

Awards
Face pulls, lots and lots of face pulls...

HATE

Awards