Shoulder bone peak (acromion) injury

1. Member
    Answers

Shoulder bone peak (acromion) injury

Hi. My second post here. I did a search with "Acromion" which seems to be the proper term for the bone peak where the Delts meet the Traps. Didn't find anything.

Yesterday I was doing heavy upright rowings, 3-5 reps. It is my first time in 10 years training that I go with such low reps. Towards the very end, I felt something pull at my right-hand side acromion. A very slight pain.

Right after that happened, I put the weight down and felt that little bony bump. Except it isn't a rounded bump anymore, it is now split in the middle by a 1/8" wide crack... Or so it seems.

I finished my delt training with some "Larry Scott Dumbell Presses" (a modified military press) - with no problem. Then I did triceps, no problem either.

Is this possible? With nearly no pain? WTF? Again today there is a very small pain when I raise my arm overhead at some angle, but just about nothing. Can this be dangerous?

I know you will recommend the obvious : go see a doctor. Of course, but beyond that, have any of you guys had something similar?

Your thoughts are welcome.

Here is the dictionary definition of that word, so that we all know what I'm talking about.

Acromion: The projection of the scapula (the shoulder blade) that forms the point of the shoulder.

The acromion is part of the scapula. It protrudes laterally (away from the midline) and is triangular in shape. The top of the shoulder is acromial. The word "acromion" comes from the Greek "akron", peak + "omos", shoulder = the peak of the shoulder.

2. Registered User
    Answers

there's no way you broke youre acromion without ripping your supraspinatus/corcohumoral/biceps tendon. unless its a stress fructure. upright rows are recipe for impingement which is probably what you did.
  3. Member
    Answers

Quote Originally Posted by vafla