Help... Unusual PT question- injury prevention related

DYEGYE

DYEGYE

Awards
  • Established
I will be getting my certification as a personal trainer in March. I have been exercising for 8 years now, though the most intensity and true focus on it has been in the last year or so (although I was also very serious in high school). My first BIG gig as a trainer will potentially be in July/August.

Here's the rundown- my dad runs a music festival for strings players (violin, viola, cello, and bass). In addition to being the outdoor activities coordinator, he also wants me to work with the students as an injury prevention coach.

There has been some debate between my dad and I about how this will take place. He has it in his mind that I am going to put them through an array of shoulder and back exercises with ultra-light dumbbells, towels, and therabands. Essentially, the things that he has in mind are all rehab type exercises. I do have a good bit of experience with these exercises myself, having had an arthroscopic shoulder reconstruction a few years ago. I do see the value in these exercises, but I also disagree with him as to the place they take in a training regimen.

In my mind, those exercises are for rehab and form correction. If someone is injuring themself because their shoulder is too far forward when they play, obviously one would want to train the muscles that will help roll it back a bit and prevent that injury. Same goes for a hurt rotator cuff- some degree of direct training is important to strengthen and get it back into playing condition. However, I feel that overall fitness would play a greater role in preventing injury than just direct training of potential points of injury.