Running Before or After Workout?

hypebeast

Awards
I have been working out for over 7 years now and just now i have joined a forum to learn more. LONG OVERDUE and I hope i am posting in the correct section of the forum.

So through the years I have heard this and that. Do this and not that. I am 5'5 and just under 140. I am trying to get 6 pack abs like every other guy in the world.

Many have told me to run before my workout because running after my lifting session will make my workout a waste and i wont gain size. Others have told me to run after my workout but just maintain the diet i am on because trying to get abs is 80% diet and i wont lose the size i am trying to maintain/grow.

I have also read elsewhere that doing the treadmill/stair master on "FAT BURNER" will burn the fat only after a workout without taking away the gains from the workout i just did...

So many stories...from your exp...what do you guys do to try to maintain/grow your muscles and get abs at the same time?

Thanks in advance

wearedbleedblue

wearedbleedblue

Awards
  • Established
If you're not a contest prep bodybuilder, I'd say yes, diet is the biggest part. Get a clean, tight diet and get it dialed in for at least 4 weeks. As far as cardio is concerned, I prefer the dumbell or barbell complexes over any kind of long distance running or treadmill work. HIIT style workouts are also great. Basically stuff where you work hard for a short period of time (1 min or less) and then rest for 30-60 seconds. As you get better, you can increase the work time and decrease the rest. Just make sure you're going 90% or better on the work.

hypebeast

Awards
Sorry i am new to all the terminology on this site or perhaps in general

what is dumbell and/or barbell comlexes...is that like supersets?
and what is HIIT style workouts?

wearedbleedblue

wearedbleedblue

Awards
  • Established