plateau on bench

beastmode99

Awards
I have been lifting for 3 months straight after football ended and have about 2 solid years of weightlifting experience. I have been gaining ever since the end of football on every compound workout, I have gained in my squat, deadlift, and powerclean consistently but for about a month I have not increased my benchpress at all. I have gone from benching 185 for 5 x 5 to 215 for 5 x 5 in two months but ever since that I have not made any gains. Any help on what may help, any workouts or any experiences with plataeus would be greatly appreciated.

AllMaxBrian

Awards
Do you normally train to failure? If not, switching to a failure routine can help you bust through plateaus - I like to do my first set to failure then do a drop set to squeeze every last ounce of power out.

beastmode99

Awards
Do you normally train to failure? If not, switching to a failure routine can help you bust through plateaus - I like to do my first set to failure then do a drop set to squeeze every last ounce of power out.
no I normally don't but yeah I'll try that, thanks

MMAMONSTER19

Awards
  • Established
Food need more carbs for more energy, and also try doing pyramids what i started when i hit a freeze point (plateau) i started this 12,8,6,6 goes 155 for 5 for warmup then 185x12, 205x8, 225x6 225x6 extremely difficult the first time i tried it but after i did this for a bit and made sure i hit every mark went to my old bench routine and added on 5lbs per set and set my new max at 260 last month cant wait to find out what it is now!! check it out

buuzer0

buuzer0

Awards
  • Established
I feel your pain, I don't regularly bench much over 5 reps of 225... ever... and i've been there for probably a year or so, though i have gotten gains in other areas.

Mainly my wrists hurt like hell if I go much over that.

jtp217

jtp217

Awards