Help with protein and gaining weight

Awards
I've gained 17 pounds in about 2 months and i attribute most of that to the whey anabolic protein i have been taking while weightlifting. But to be honest after 3 straight days of taking it i seem to get diarrhea and just crap it out. And i think i may have hit a wall. Im 6'3 180 and have a big frame to add weight. Also im just working out for sports, not for competing. I know theres alot of talk about making your own, is there a good recipe to keep me lean and gaining weight?

Also when i lift weights, I dont work one muscle group a day like ive heard you should. Im a rookie weight lifting wise and dont think i know enough workouts to keep me in the weight room for more than 20 min (with one muscle group).

this is mostly a weight gain question.

EasyEJL

EasyEJL

Never enough
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
try low fat cottage cheese and tuna fish in place of the whey. The diarrhea is relatively "normal" if a lot of your calories are coming from whey rather than solid foods.

Look around for prebuilt workout routines. There are more of them than you can count. SAIS, Madcow, Body For Life, PRRS, GBC, GVT, etc.

TheAnimalG

TheAnimalG

Awards
The best thing for gaining muscle mass is food. Its the best anabolic out there!

I recommend knowing how many calories you are eating in all your foods during the day. That way you can adjust it up or down as you see the effects on your body.

At first it will seem like a lot of work to look at all the nutriitonal info, but after a little while, you will start remembering all of it and you will automatically know how many calories you ate. (especially since most people eat the same things every day or every so often)

Awards
The best thing for gaining muscle mass is food. Its the best anabolic out there!

I recommend knowing how many calories you are eating in all your foods during the day. That way you can adjust it up or down as you see the effects on your body.