How much protein/calorie should i intake?

cjs26e4u

Awards
I am 23, 5'11, 150 lbs. Ive read on here somewhere that there should be like a 40/20/20 intake or something like that.........that being said i am still fairly new to dieting and gaining weight. I have no idea what this means, lol. I want to start out on a 3000 cal diet and have at least 1g of protein per lb of weight. I am in the military & am taking leave the end of december, i want to put on as many lbs/muscle as i can by then. What is a healthy intake amount i should look into? Thanks for the help, CJ.

Jstrong20

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
I think your reffering to 40% carbs/40%protein/20% fat diet. Intake is going to vary for diffrent people but this is a good start. If you do alot of cardio you may want to raise your carbs even higher. I myself shoot for close to 2g of protein per lbs of bodyweight. Some people find they can do well with 1g.

cjs26e4u

Awards
When you say 20% fat diet, does this mean "fats" in general such as "total fat" or different types like saturated fat, trans fat, etc?

MakaveliThaDon

Awards
  • Established
total fat. But it would be preferrable to have them come from healthy fats. Like omega-3's and omega-6's. Peanut butter, olive oil and flax seed oil are the only 3 things I ever eat to get my fat intake. You don't ever want trans fats btw, so stay away from butter and margarine. Get the spray butter stuff with no cals, or make your own butter from the recipes on this board if you must.

cjs26e4u

Awards
total fat. But it would be preferrable to have them come from healthy fats. Like omega-3's and omega-6's. Peanut butter, olive oil and flax seed oil are the only 3 things I ever eat to get my fat intake. You don't ever want trans fats btw, so stay away from butter and margarine. Get the spray butter stuff with no cals, or make your own butter from the recipes on this board if you must.
Thanks.

pistonpump

pistonpump

Banned
Awards
  • Legend!