If you time lapsed a growing muscle, how would it develop ??

joshddutton

Awards
Lets see... I'm looking for some insight on how muscle grows.

I've been working out consistantly for 6 months.

Lets take the bicep developement. But this pretty much applies to every muscle for me just about.

1st Month lifting-------------------
Bicep is all soft

Second Month--------------------------------
I notice bicep is still soft except right near the elbow is starting to get really firm.

Fourth Month---------------------------------
The top of the bicep near the shoulder is firming up and the area near the elbow is really hard and dense feeling.

6th Month------------------------------------
Seems like the center of the bicep is getting as hard as the elbow and top.

Is the majority of size gained after the entire muscle is super hard and dense or would you say its even or .. size first then density.

Over a certain time period, How did your muscles grow in respect to desity/hardness versus size ?

Hopefully you get the idea... :blink:

kwyckemynd00

kwyckemynd00

Awards
  • Established
It tends to alternate.

At times you'll get more dense and no much bigger in terms of measurements, and at other times you may get bigger while not really gaining strength or density.

Probably has something to do with fascial stretching...just a guess though.

(note: fascia is the tissue that encapsulates the muscle and turns into tendons which attach muscles to bones.)

joshddutton

Awards
Thanks for the reply... I feel like I've gained mostly density and less size ... I'm thinking hopefully when I get dense enough the size will follow by the outer fiber catching up with the inner core ones. Just an idea though. Kinda like how the triceps adapt to support your chest muscles on bench or vice versa

I know everyone is different, but what have you personally noticed about your own growth?

xtraflossy

xtraflossy

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established