Bulk or cut please help

Renegade97

Awards
I recently started training and i have no idea what to do, bulk or cut. Self evaluation has led me to the conclusion that i am apparently skinny fat. At 206 pounds and 177cm tall...

mickc1965

mickc1965

Awards
  • Established
Neither try and recomp and benefit from newbie gains and lose fat at the same time

TomS93

Awards
Not really an answer for you but it is completely up to you and what your goals are. I used to want to gain as much muscle as I could so I bulked, but I got to a point where I hated looking in the mirror and seeing all my bodyfat so I've been on a long cut and have been able to maintain my strength with little muscle loss.

Beta

Awards
  • Established
I recently started training and i have no idea what to do, bulk or cut. Self evaluation has led me to the conclusion that i am apparently skinny fat. At 206 pounds and 177cm tall...
Correct me if I'm wrong, but 177cm is around 5'9"/5'10"?

If you're weighing in at 206, I wouldn't say you're skinny fat. Though, as I don't know your body fat/LBM %, I can't give too much input rn.

I'd recommend trying to gauge your bf% first -- if you're in the upper teens/twenties, focus on losing fat. If you're new to lifting, you'll go through a period where you end up putting on muscle mass and losing fat concurrently (a recomp, as was mentioned above).

APC80

APC80

Awards
You're 3cm taller than me and 40 pounds heavier you need to focus on losing fat. You'll build some muscle and gain strength while you're doing it seeing you're new to training but your bf% is far too high to bulk. Cutting will teach you how to track your macros and eat properly.

Chados

Chados

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote