Trouble gaining weight

pistol345

pistol345

Awards
  • Established
hey guys... I hate to admit it... but apparently I don't have my diet and training figured out. I've been bulking for like 2 months now, and have gained like 2lbs, probably some of that is fat too. I'm a hard gainer if there ever was one, so I'll eat my ass off and still lose weight.

So feel free to bash me if u must, but I just really wanna get some results. I haven't been counting calories, I've just been eating a lot.

So being 23 (birthday is tomorrow!), 6'3", 178 lbs, ~11% bf, with a low activity job... I should eat like 3500+ calories a day, right?

Last year I dirty bulked and ate 4500 cals a day and gained a bunch of good and bad weight. Then had to cut for months to get lean again, so id like to lean bulk this time.

So for macro ratios... p/c/f, 40/40/20?

Training wise, I used to exclusively do 8-12 reps on every set. I recently switched it up and do 4 sets of 3-5 reps heavy as hell, then 3 sets of 8-12 reps, then 3 sets of 15+ reps.

I would really like to pack on size more than strength, so think I should go back to mid range reps on all sets?

Jake Phillips

Jake Phillips

Awards
hey guys... I hate to admit it... but apparently I don't have my diet and training figured out. I've been bulking for like 2 months now, and have gained like 2lbs, probably some of that is fat too. I'm a hard gainer if there ever was one, so I'll eat my ass off and still lose weight.

So feel free to bash me if u must, but I just really wanna get some results. I haven't been counting calories, I've just been eating a lot.

So being 23 (birthday is tomorrow!), 6'3", 178 lbs, ~11% bf, with a low activity job... I should eat like 3500+ calories a day, right?

Last year I dirty bulked and ate 4500 cals a day and gained a bunch of good and bad weight. Then had to cut for months to get lean again, so id like to lean bulk this time.

So for macro ratios... p/c/f, 40/40/20?