New to lifting, need help adding mass while maintaining weight

truth34

Awards
Hey guys,
I'll be blunt about it, this is my first post and ive come looking for some general advice. Ill start out by letting everyone know i'm 6'2 I was about 255 lbs when i started lifting a month an a half ago, im about 244 now. What I want to do is bulk up. But i dont want to gain any weight right now bc im already a fat bastard.

So the first issue is dietary. I do six meals a day high protein diet and drink protein shakes after workouts. Im not sure if I do a morning shake every day would be a bad idea or not. And im not sure if should eat big to help with muscle growth since i have plenty of fat to burn.

Secondly my training is 5 days a week 1. shoulders 2. arms 3. back 4. legs 5. chest. but i do 3 sets of 8-12 reps and im not seeing the progress i would like ie. my bench press is only 135. Would i better off trying like a 10 8 6 and adding ten pounds each set.

I'm more than happy to provide any info needed so i can get on the right track and im hoping i can take some good lessons to the gym with me.

truth34

Awards
an before anyone points it out i mean adding muscle mass while maintaining my weight.

Red9

Red9

Awards
What are your macros lookin like? Fats, calories, carbs, protein?
Noticed you didn't list any cardio?
What kinds of foods are you eating?
How old are you?

I'll do my best to help ya out if you can answer these. And welcome to AM, you've come to a good place to get some good advice! Hopefully you can start down the road to good results and a healthier body brotha!

Bsiggy1

Bsiggy1

Awards
What are your macros lookin like? Fats, calories, carbs, protein?
Noticed you didn't list any cardio?
What kinds of foods are you eating?
How old are you?

I'll do my best to help ya out if you can answer these. And welcome to AM, you've come to a good place to get some good advice! Hopefully you can start down the road to good results and a healthier body brotha!