Cut to bulk??

jimmywst

jimmywst

Awards
Afternoon guys,

I'm new to the weight/body building way of life and after being informed about the importance of nutrition I did some more research, along my travels around the www I found an article(s) claiming the best results are from cutting to 10% BF the clean bulking from there....

I'm sitting around the 181lbs and still soft with it, I've addressed dietary needs and on the 1800cal a day mark whilst trying to keep the proteins as high as possible.

My question: is this the best way of approaching bulking up eventually ??

be yourself- everyone else is taken

Docmattic

Docmattic

Awards
  • Established
After trial and error i no longer bulk as in eat everything i can. When i do bulk i only up my calores by 300-500 (depending on gym workload) over maintenance. I dont want to get too fat and just have to loose it again.

However if you have been cutting for a while you can use the cut as a priming stage and bulk up quickly for a short period of time. This is because your body is being deprived of calories so it is primed to absorb nutrients. Essentially you can eat 700-1000 calories over maintenance for two-three weeks with little fat gain. I wish i had utilized this better after my last cut. From my research i wold cut carbs the week before i did this. You could probably gain about 2 clean pounds. I plan to try this after my cut.

jimmywst

jimmywst

Awards
So it really is trial and error once I get to a starting point for the build up, thanks for your reply... Sounds like a good chance to learn where my maintenance and gain calories are gonna be...

masonmarin18

masonmarin18

Awards
  • Established
Yeah you basically have to find your maintenance level and eat a calorie surplus. 3-500 works best to keep fat gain to a minimum. Lift weights at least 3x a week, all these people dirty bulk cuz they think they can put on 5 lbs of muscle in a month, when in reality they gained 1.5 lbs of muscle and 3.5lbs of fat.

ITW