Is sugar bad for bulking?

1. Registered User
    Answers

Is sugar bad for bulking?

Hiya lads. I'm new to this app and think its great.

My question is, I enjoy training.....not just weights. I enjoy runnin, swimming, rugby etc. I weight train 4 times a week. I enjoy bulking and strength training. I am taking mutant mass with my diet which is great and I am putting on weight well however in my diet I like my sugar in snacks. I would like to bulk more and put more weight on and was just wondering wether watching my sugar intake would make a difference??

Cheers

2. Registered User
    Stats
    5'8"  152 lbs.
    Answers

Yes sugar in excess is bad for many reasons from insulin resistance, oral hygiene, diabetes to causing increase in fat. Sugar is best ate(eaten?) Before or right after workout where the insulin spike is beneficial to muscles needing glycogen stores filled back up. If you like sugary foods I would eat more fruits because at least those have nutritional value such as vitamins, fiber etc.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
  3. Registered User
    Stats
    5'10"  129 lbs.
    Answers

After a workout is best. bring your snacks to the gym
    •   

4. Registered User
    Stats
    6'0"  215 lbs.
    Answers

The bulk will be cleaner without the simple sugars. Like Snikey said above^^ eat fruits if you need the sweets.
    Always open light. It’s not what you open with, it’s what you finish with. Louie Simmons
  5. Registered User
    Stats
    5'7"  250 lbs.
    Answers

I kill some carbs and sugars post workout. Sometimes s much as 500 grams of carbs.
  6. Registered User
    Answers

Thanks lads. Great advice. Much appreciated.
  7. Registered User
    Stats
    6'3"  250 lbs.
    Answers

If you have to have sugars, keep them post-workout. Unless it's something that makes you bloat, for me, I've never noticed a difference between clean or dirty foods PWO. I do most other times.