Lean Bulk Diet

GnastyMcNasty

Awards
  • Established
hey guyys I have never done a lean bulk before so i was wondering if I could get some tips/suggestions as to what a good sample one would look like. Thanks!

smoothballer

Awards
Here is what my clean bulk started like:

Meal 1 - 6 eggs, 3/4 cup oatmeal
Meal 2 - 6 oz chicken breast, 4 oz yam
Meal 3 - 2 scoops Real Gains, 1 scoop Whey
Meal 4 - 6 oz chicken breast, 4 oz yam
Meal 5 - (PWO) 2 scoops Real Gains, 1 scoop Whey
Meal 6 - Flexible with 50g Protein and 50g Carbs with salad or veggies

This is where I started and made modifications as I saw what my body was doing. I ended up dropping the carbs down and upping the protein over time. I weighed about 195 when I started for your reference.

Hope that helps...

EasyEJL

EasyEJL

Never enough
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
A lean bulk diet's macros hardly matters. Its more about controlling how much you have in surplus calories, and remembering to continue to raise the calories as you go to compensate for having added muscle.

6 meals a day, 8 meals a day, 2 meals a day, it doesn't matter much. 40/40/20, 50/25/25, whatever, doesn't really matter much. Consistency, making sure you get a decent amount of protein from whole foods and tracking calories anally is all that really counts.

GnastyMcNasty

Awards
  • Established
Smoothballer, thanks for that, it helps... And how much of a surplus is optimal without gaining fat?? I understand everyone is different but I'm just looking for a general ballpark number

EasyEJL

EasyEJL

Never enough
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Smoothballer, thanks for that, it helps... And how much of a surplus is optimal without gaining fat?? I understand everyone is different but I'm just looking for a general ballpark number