winter bulk help

Swoldierboy

Awards
  • Established
during my winter bulk, i have put on about 8 pounds naturally. in a month or so, i plan to run prime with a creatine. this is my first winter bulking so im new at this. the first part of my bulk was a dirty bulk. now i am doing a clean bulk but i still have a little gut i am 5ft 9 173 pounds. i take 2 scoops of serious mass with 2 scoops of ice cream, 1 egg and a banana in my shake. is there any way to lean up the stomach area without burning too many calories for bulking. i rarely do cardio and i do abs about 4x a week. my training is chest one day, back the other, legs...etc 2 on 1 off. reps consist of nothing higher than 10, nothing lower than 4. usually ill do sets of 3 of 8,6,4 but on main lifts ill do 4 sets. ill be posting a leaning up forum towards the end of december to get ready for spring break. i have many questions on that but for this thread, any advice on bulking without gaining a gut is helpful

urbanski

urbanski

Awards
  • Established
you need to decide if you're going to recomp (slowly "lean up") or bulk. you cannot gain weight without gaining weight...including fat. likewise, do all the direct ab work you want, but you cannot spot lose fat. figure out what you really want and choose a diet to meet those goals. if i were you, and you are taller/lighter than me, i'd bulk since you need mass. you can do a proper cut in spring.

youngandfree

Awards
  • Established
I would add 3 days of light to moderate cardio a week and drop 3 days of abs.

Swoldierboy

Awards
  • Established
youngandfree, how much cardio? i heard jump roping for 5 min is worth 20 min of jogging.urbanski, so r u saying just do a dirty bulk and eat everything in sight, although not junk like cookies 24 7 i know, and so cardio as well?

matt352

Awards
  • Established