Am I overdoing it? - gained 18lb in 5wks

roznerd

Awards
I'm a new here on AM. I am 6'4" and lean. My legs are strong but the upper is weak. My background is in endurance sports (ultra distance triathlon, half-marathons, swimming, mountain biking). I am a cadrio beast. I can throw down a 120mi bike ride no problem. My body type is ecto. I wanted to bulk up and look more like a Navy Seal and less like a bean-pole. I cut way back on my cardio activities. I started weight training 5 weeks ago and I cranked up my calories big time, from 2500 to 4500 daily, with good clean stuff. I also started taking 5g of creatine per day about 3 weeks ago. Also supping with whey protein, maltodextrin, and dextrose for the PWO shake.

So here's where I'm at now

Begin: 186lb
5 weeks: 204lb (whoa +18lb!)

My first weigh in was today and I was shocked at the 18lb gain in 5 weeks. I will start weighing weekly from now on. I am doing a 3day split (legs-back, shoulder-chest, arms). I am carefully tracking my calories. My diet macros % are Carbs 50%-60% Protein 25%-30% (shooting for 1.5g/lb) Fat 15%-20%. I can tell I have a little more chub around, but it also looks like my pecs are showing up now and I've added an inch on my bi's. I don't know how much of this is just creatine water and fat, but I'd like to think I'm making some gains.

The Big Questions:

Is this weight gain normal during the beginning of bulking for a 1st timer or am I over doing it?

Should I cut back my calories? or just keep going until I have the amount of muscle I want then burn the fat?

I appreciate any advice and comments. I have read alot of stuff on this forum and I think I'm on a pretty good path. Thanks

Resolve

Resolve

The BPS Rep
Awards
  • Established
  • RockStar
Sounds quite similar to when I first started eating enough. You're the same height as me and I can't imagine only eating 2500 cals a day AND being a long-distance runner. Holy cow man.