bulking up and burning fat at same time?

elliotuk

elliotuk

Awards
im new to the world of building muscle etc and need some advice.

Started going to the gym 1 month ago and simply going to gain muscle ( i wanna look good naked!!). I am 16lb and a real hard gainer (ectomorph) so ive been told i need to eat sh*t loads.

I'm eating loads of the right food and everything, but I have a small amount of fat on my belly that I want to get rid of. Now the trainers in the gym are telling me to simply do some cardio after I have done the weights each time I go to the gym. however I have read all across the net that you should not try to gain muscle and burn fat at the same time - they dont work together and it will massively affect any size gains.

I just want to hear people thoughts on this.....is it true? Should I just focus on eating loads and bulking up and forget about cv? If so then how and when can I get rid of the fat on my belly so that my abs show?!

cheers.

Brother

Brother

Awards
I had great results loosing fat doing fasted cardio and drinking BCAA first thing in the AM. Im sure if you did 30 min or cardio in the mornings and lifted later one wouldnt effect the other. I could be wrong but I think im right and thats all that matters to me :) Also HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) is way more effective for burning calories which I assume is what you want to lose body fat. As long as your supplying you body with clean fuel and burning calories I wouldnt think you would become catabolic from cardio. Thats why most people will tell you to use BCAA pre/during/post workout.

BoyFromAus

Awards
  • Established
it's possible but inefficient. That's why people have a bulking phase and a cutting phase.

bulking requires calorie surplus (comsume more calories than burnt)
cutting requires calorie deficit (the opposite)