football safety trying to gain strength, size, and speed

istal

Awards
I'm a 15 year old safety for my high school and trying to start on varsity and i am 5'6 140 lbs. I wanted to know if someone could give me some tips on getting stronger, faster, and bigger. It would be extremely appreciated if someone could help me out.

pantherdude63

pantherdude63

Awards
  • Established
Does your school not have any type of strength training program set up?

istal

Awards
Yes, we do but its only for current Varsity Players and as of know i,m only j.v. but my coaches say I could start. Also I am only a freshman, but I will be a sophmore entering next season

MMAMONSTER19

Awards
  • Established
well for strength target compound lifts your school should have a gym probably have the power clean station and squat racks and bench, with deadlifts im assuming you probably know how to do these exercises if not ask someone else around in the gym, and target between 8-10 reps to start with low weight to get the form down properly once you have that get going to 4-6 reps heavy to target strength to gain size you want to get between 8-12 reps, for speed you wanna practice sprints to get your fast twitch muscle fibers going start with a nice easy jog and go on the track and run sprints or if your in the your gymnasium use the basketball court and do the routine called "mountains or ladders" and youll get moving faster. once you get these basics down you need to get a workout program 5x5 ares good for strength to get you going, finally EAT you need to eat to grow man, eat good clean healthy foods lots of protein get yourself a cheap whey protein nutraplanet has some and look into maybe some cheap creatine if your interested and a good multi vitamin and if you do this then you shall start to grow man good luck on your quest!

istal

Awards