Only three consecutive days a week to lift

okboy63

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
I only have 3 days a week to lift and they are M-t-W for a max of 1 hr per day
How would you design a lifting program?
A full body program on M and W or a push/pull/legs routine on separate days. Some sort of HIT routine is what I was thinking.
I am oh so close to 45 but still in decent shape.
Is it to many consecutive days off to make any decent gains?

CROWLER

CROWLER

Anabolic Innovations Owner
Awards
  • Established
Yes you can definitely still make gains. 1 hour is plenty in my opinion.

I would go with the tried and true.

Day 1 Back and bis

Day 2 Chest and Tris

Day 3 Legs and Abs.

CROWLER

Jim Mills

Jim Mills

Awards
  • Established
I'm no expert here, but you could also try: Full upper body on Monday & Wednesday and legs on Tuesday........ Crowler also has a good idea..... Maybe you can try one workout program for 6-8 weeks then switch to the other one?

b unit

b unit

Awards
  • Established
m - chest & back (bench press, lat pulldown, incline press, seated row etc - alternate between chest & back - push/pull)
t - legs & calves
w- shoulders & arms (alternate between bi's & tri's - push/pull)

RoidRageX10

RoidRageX10

Awards
  • Established
Yes you can definitely still make gains. 1 hour is plenty in my opinion.

Day 1 Back and bis

Day 2 Chest and Tris

Day 3 Legs and Abs.

CROWLER
I enjoy that routine with shoulders somehwere in the mix.

t-bone2

Awards
  • Established
Day 1 Back and bis
Day 2 Chest and Tris
Day 3 Legs and Abs
In order to grow, you're going to need to progressively add weight over time. Three days in a row of heavy lifting may make recovery difficult and the third may not be best effort for that reason.

I would make two additional suggestions. First, rotate the exercises:

Week 1
Day 1 Back and bis
Day 2 Chest and Tris
Day 3 Legs and Abs

Week 2
Day 1 Chest and Tris
Day 2 Legs and Abs
Day 3 Back and bis

Week 3
Day 1 Legs and Abs