Progress at 49

1. Progress at 49

Hey guys;

I am addressing this to those of you 45+ who are in great shape - and i've seen there are alot of you out there!

I've been lifting for 7+ years and got serious 2 years ago. I revamped my diet totally cut out sugar, bad fat, alcohol, junk ingeneral. I've gone from 27% bf to 15% and am alot stronger - Big question at 6-2, 185 - I want to pack on some muscle and then cut to 10% next year. i have a big frame so can handle 215-225 if it's lean.

I've trained on the conservative side - high reps for 6 sets for a long time. Should I switch to 5 x 5 training?

BTW tested the test and it's on the low end of normal for my age (and that was good news?) so my doc says no to HRT./

Thanks in advance bros!

BTW _ I know - alot of people think I look like arnold... ;-)
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. i just turned 40 and you look great for 49. gaining mass is hard for most at any age and gaining mass over 40 naturally is tough. i push as hard and heavy as i can ... sometimes i have to take a day off or 2 because of recovery and joints sore. but 5x5 and other lifting programs similar are my choice. i don't go to failure or forced reps often.
    •   

3. Quote Originally Posted by luggnut View Post
    i just turned 40 and you look great for 49. gaining mass is hard for most at any age and gaining mass over 40 naturally is tough. i push as hard and heavy as i can ... sometimes i have to take a day off or 2 because of recovery and joints sore. but 5x5 and other lifting programs similar are my choice. i don't go to failure or forced reps often.

Thanks buddy - how long have u been lifting? how long in the 5x5 mode. i think I'm going to give that a try. Did u get size gains as well as strength?

Thanks dude.

4. Search for posts by a guy named DreamWeaver. He's been at this a long time and has great training info. I'm thinkin he's gonna tell you to do less sets with higher intensity to gain muscle mass.