How can I burn fat and gain muscle?

ruffrhyder

Awards
I've been lifting weights for a few years now. In the last couple months I've been training really intensely and gained about 10 lbs of what I think is mostly muscle. My problem is, I've still got a flabby stomach. How can I burn body fat while still gaining muscle or at least maintain the muscle I've worked so hard to gain.
I eat around 3k kcal/day. 3 solid meals with 50g protein shakes in between meals.
Weight train 1 hour/day, 6 days/week
Cardio 20 min/day, 2 days/week.

GaDawgs29

Awards
Well naturally being Men our body stores all the fat in our stomach area, so its the last place that ur body will go to reduce fat. Also you may want to increase your cardio to double 40 mins 4 times a week. (even if its not intense cardio) Your body will resort to using stored fat eventually you just have to increase time

ruffrhyder

Awards
Will the increased cardio training cause me to burn muscle tissue as well?
Also, is it best to do cardio on an empty stomach and should it be done before or after weight training?

GaDawgs29

Awards
ive read that after training is best cuz that way your not burning all ur fuel for cardio and feel like death to hit weights. And idk bout cardio on empty stomach but also another way is doing a ketoish diet minimal carbs and forces ur body to use fat and protein for fuel its has done wonders for me and others love it also

Sweekaters

Awards
It'll be very hard to continue gaining muscle while also dropping fat, pick your battles. Drop your calorie intake by 20% while keeping protein high, wait a few weeks, and drop another 20% if you aren't losing as fast as you'd like.

VeganMike

Awards
Do cardio after you lift. Your body will have depleted all of the stored energy/glycogen lifting. Thus, when you start doing cardio after lifting your body will be in fat burning mode.

leung3644

Awards