Weight Training 2x Daily

Old Witch

Old Witch

Awards
  • First Up Vote
  • Established
  • RockStar
  • Best Answer
Something I had done in the past was hit the gym first thing after breakfast and then again two hours before bed. I did seem to recover somehow (enhanced) but I don’t see too many guys out there believing this to be true or claiming to be using this training method. Jay Cutler being one notable guy training twice a day at certain times. Dallas McCarver being another.

I found even as a beginner I benefitted from a week on week off of training twice daily five times a week as long as I split up the routine appropriately, ate enough food and took a long snooze between sessions. I may not have grown faster but strength seemed to improve more rapidly. Once I started using gear it just changed things for the better, obviously.

Anybody out there lifting twice or more a day? How do you recover? Is that year round or do you cycle training frequency?

BEAST73

BEAST73

Awards
  • Established
  • RockStar
If I train twice a day, I will rest the following day. My Macros intake would be higher the day before and the day after training.

christ83189

christ83189

Awards
  • Established
I used to before i had kids now im too busy. Also used to do crossfit 6am the bjj, muay thai, mma at 530pm 6 days a week. That was all before gear too. Dont know how i did it lol

EMPIREMIND

EMPIREMIND

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
I’ve gone through periods of time where I was doing two to three sessions a day. I would keep the length of the sessions shorter, but found I could be more intense. You need to be able to sleep and get in the right nutrition to support that regimen and that is the hardest part. If you have the time and resources to make it happen, you should do well with it.

Aleksandar37

Aleksandar37

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer