Need help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ultra150

Awards
Everytime I do cardio my side starts to hurt what is the reason for this.I drink pleanty of water and eat well I have been doing cardio for 2 months nnow it doesn't always hurt but sometimes it dose any thoughts on this.

Sheesh

Awards
  • Established
What's happening to you is known as "stitches".

Q: What causes "side stitches," how do I get rid of them, and how do I prevent them from occurring in the first place?

A: Great question! In the May-June 1992 issue of Running Research News, Dr. Gordon Quick discussed this very topic. A "side stitch" is a sharp, intense pain under the lower edge of the ribcage caused by a muscle spasm of the diaphragm. Such pain can occur during vigorous exercise, such as running, and seems to occur more commonly in novice exercisers who have not yet established proper pacing and who tend to breathe more quickly and shallow. However, about 30% of all runners will experience stitches at some point. What exactly causes them? On inhalation, we take air into the lungs, pressing the diaphragm downward. When we exhale, the diaphragm moves up. If the body has some trapped air/gas below the diaphragm, if we've eaten too close to exercise, or if we start exercising too vigorously, the diaphragm may cramp, causing pain under the rib cage on the right side.

How do you cure the problem?