I'll never underestimate the importance of time off again!

max silver

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
Since I started lifting I've gotten really hooked by the iron game, enough so that I very rarely took scheduled breaks away from the weights. The longest I had ever given myself off was 5 days, and after that I was going insane with the need to get back at it. I've come to realize that this is so far from optimal however, as a recent 9 day hiatus from lifting has shown me

I finished up pct after an m1t/superone+ cycle, and was dealing with a number of nagging aches and pains. While the time off didn't allow for these to fully heal up, it did go a long way to seeing improvements in these injuries. And the biggest plus I've seen is renewed energy levels while working out, as well as some nice strength gains while cutting. I normally tend to see a pretty quick drop off of strength levels while in a caloric defecit, but this time around just about every lift has been improving weekly, even though I've dropped 4 or so pounds in the first 3 weeks of cutting.

How often do you guys tend to give yourself a break from the vigors of workouts? I'm still trying to get to know my body in terms of recuperative abilities, and when it's time for a rest period. I wasn't feeling particularly rundown before my break, but do feel alot more energetic now that I did give myself the time off.

bioman

bioman

Awards
  • Established
In my first years of lifting I never took time off and got really overtrained. I hung at 167 for almost 2.5 years. I worked up several nagging aches and a shoulder problem that still flares up.

I started reading more and more on overtraining at it all made sense.

Now with my work sometimes I'm forced to take a week or more off about every month. I've noticed I tend to keep my strength for longer periods and I can keep my wieght very easily (not hard yet since I'm only 180). This fall/winter I plan on going over 200 for the first time ever.

Sticks