ZMA - why do I need it and can I just "make" my own for cheaper?

TheNinja

TheNinja

Awards
  • Established
I've never tried ZMA before, but I hear a lot of people here hype it up as a before bed supplement. I feel I'm missing that part of my diet/supp as I usually just have protein and a few fish oils before bed. I don't need help sleeping so I don't care about that part of it. I want the strength/recovery portion of it. That being said, why can't I just buy Zinc, Magnesium, and some B6 and just take them in the proper doses? It would probably be cheaper (I already have 2 bottles of 60mg zinc tablets anyway).

Thanks guys

Rodja

Rodja

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
The main reason people take ZMA is that the specific blend has been tested and has clinical evidence, but supplementing with zinc and magnesium is a good idea anyway.

ReaperX

Awards
  • Established
I've never tried ZMA before, but I hear a lot of people here hype it up as a before bed supplement. I feel I'm missing that part of my diet/supp as I usually just have protein and a few fish oils before bed. I don't need help sleeping so I don't care about that part of it. I want the strength/recovery portion of it. That being said, why can't I just buy Zinc, Magnesium, and some B6 and just take them in the proper doses? It would probably be cheaper (I already have 2 bottles of 60mg zinc tablets anyway).

Thanks guys
The blends of ZMA come in different forms, there's Zinc, Zinc Chelate, Zinc Metho-bla-blah, etc.... you get the idea. One of my friends said he does not take ZMA b/c he claims 'it dosen't put on as much weight as Superdrol' uh, which....is true....but its more of a supplement that works in the background.

rampage jackson

rampage jackson

Awards
  • Established