Is there a good way to lower DHT?

nycjimi

Awards
I have low test but high DHT. Adding test skyrockets my DHT and hair loss and acne ensue.

So what to do?

punxweb

Awards
How are you taking your test? Transdermal or shot? For some, transdermals will increase DHT. For those that it happens to typically switch to shots.

nycjimi

Awards
Test injection. Twice a week. 25 mg per shot.

Serum test is 450 on a range of 305-800
Serum DHT is 105 on a range of 25- 75

punxweb

Awards
Thats a pretty low dose of test to see a large increase of DHT. I know some on this forum suggest having DHT slightly above the reference range. I do not know how far above though. I have heard that saw palmetto helps lower DHT but I have no experience with it. What was your DHT before starting HRT?

nycjimi

Awards
My pre HRT numbers were:
Test 290 350-800
DHT 70 35-75

punxweb

Awards
Could look into finasteride and dutasteride if the DHT gets out of hand. Wouldn't be my first choice. I am sure some others on here will pipe in soon. You were in the upper range when starting HRT and the small amount you did brought you out of range. Thats strange man. Hope others with more experince with this will chime in.

Philec48

Awards
  • Established
Beware using those drugs! Want to shut down your libido? Permanently? It has happened to some men. Punxweb, glad it's not your first choice. Shouldn't even be 100th choice.

Listen, DHT of 105 in a range of 25-75 is not lethal. It should be NOTHING to worry about unless there are side effects.

If that side effect is difficulty peeing due to swelling of the prostate, then for crying out loud take nettle root and saw palmetto together. This is just as effective as dutasteride according to some studies, and without the effect of killing libido.

Let the doctors push these drugs, not us!

corsaking

Awards
  • Established
get a psa check before embarking on anything

punxweb

Awards