Bulking macros

Tbl16

Awards
  • Established
Alright so decided to start a bulk with the new year and was looking for some advice on macros. I have never needed to track macros for bulking before but now that I’m over 30 I have noticed a need to more carefully track my food intake.

I’m 31, 6’1”, 205#, and I have been training off and on for over 13 years, but 4-6 days a week for the last 4 years. I focus on heavy compound lifts M,W,F and do accessory lifts, lighter compound lift variations, and mild intensity cardio T, Th, Sat. For the last six months I have focused on losing fat around my mid section so I was eating low carb, high fat, moderate protein, the split was 50/30/20 fat/protein/carbs. It worked well as I saw a good drop in overall body fat along with my targeted area.

So now that I’m bulking I’m not sure the exact macro split I want to use, so I made sure to up my carb and protein intake along with lower the fat. My macros are ending up to be about 40/30/30, carb/protein/fat. I am eating between 3300-3700 calories a day and have been averaging 270 grams protein and 380 grams carbs. Just wanting to get some opinions since I haven’t really tracked macros on a bulk before. Thanks all.

Whisky

Whisky

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
  • Best Answer
Honestly imo your spot on bro.

As long as you have enough carbs pre and post workout you don’t necessarily need to be at 380g but in my experience most people bulk better at that sort of level (personally I don’t, for whatever reason my body prefers cutting and bulking on lowish carbs). So don’t be afraid to drop the carbs down a bit if you feel your gaining too much fat but generally everything looks perfect so I think you’ll smash it.

I’m similar height and weight, just a few years older (36) so interested to follow along and see how you get on.

Using any supplements?

Tbl16

Awards
  • Established