What's it take to create a simple web site?

Al Shades

Al Shades

Awards
I'm a personal trainer and I want to set up a simple web site to help me attract clients.

What is the time and money commitment that is required to do this?

I want a basic, but good looking site. I'm not a web designer so I would like to create the page based off a standardized template. Where can I find such templates?

I need to have about 4 pages on the site.
Intro/Home, Photo Gallery page, Rates/Pricing, and maybe Client Testimonials.

As far as hosting goes, what's involved with it? Can I use my ISP to host for free or should I pay for it?

How do you get a custom domain and custom email, along the lines of:

www.CustomDomain.com

[email protected]

Is that included as a standard part of most hosting packages?

DriverDan

DriverDan

Awards
Templates suck. Don't do it yourself, get a GOOD designer to build you one from scratch. Drupal is a great content management system. It has a bit of a learning curve but the basics aren't that hard to pick up.

You can get basic hosting for $5/m or less. For something as small as what you're looking for you wouldn't need anything more than the cheapest plan.

Al Shades

Al Shades

Awards
Aren't many net sites built on templates?

"Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd."

How much would I be paying to have someone design it for me?

Palo Alto Labs

Palo Alto Labs

Dave
Awards
  • Established
there are some GREAT Flash templates out there for under $50. dont have anyone design it at this point... not worth the $2-5k by any means. i dont see any problems with templates as long as you can 100% control the content and images in the template.

but if you have ZERO web building history, you might want to pick up a book or something to learn... or you could prob find a cheap class at the community college..