Road to 500 Bench 200 BW

f4iguy

f4iguy

Awards
  • First Up Vote
  • Established
Hi all. I've been lifting for 29 years. I started strength training for wrestling at 12 then took an interest in bodybuilding. Most of my lifting journey has been focused on adding muscle while remaining under 14% bodyfat as a natural lifter. Early on I realized I have a propensity for strength. I don't enjoy powerlifting as much as hypertrophy focused training but decided about 8 years ago after encouragement from coaches to push the compound lifts and compete in powerlifting. So far I've been able to deadlift 650, squat 550 (no wraps), and I'll be hitting a lifetime PR on bench soon. My state record bench 5 years ago at 195 pounds was 442 pounds with a long pause. When I pressed 442 I was depleted from a weight cut and only had 2 minutes to warm up (1 warm up set). I was also exhausted from traveling so not my best performance. At the start of COVID I decided to focus on what I do best. Bench press. I'm currently 3 weeks into my 6 week peaking program. I'll add some videos of my progress below. My goal in 2022 is a 500 bench at no more than 205 bodyweight. Let me know if you have any questions about bench training.

Week 1: 405x9 Reps youtu.be/trRJE4kKeBM

Week 3: 405x19 Reps (across 3 sets) youtu.be/UaG69VeRnDM

Week 4: 425x5 Reps (This was my 3rd set. Set 1 & 2 were 425x4 RPE 8) youtu.be/XJGd-3JLl2c

KvanH

KvanH

Awards
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
  • Established
  • RockStar
How tall are you, mate? You don't look like under 200 lbs in the YT clip. More like 220-230, lol. (I mean it in a good way)

To me it looks like you're using pretty narrow grip. What's your take on the optimal grip width and how to determine it individually?

f4iguy

f4iguy

Awards
  • First Up Vote
  • Established