Hammer Strength Triceps Question

Dutchman

Dutchman

Awards
  • Established
I guess this is the best forum to pose my question. I have been lifting for over 50 years and now at 65 I am getting really serious about powerlifting (220lbs, 65 - 69 class). I can't handle squats for the same reasons I can't run anymore but I can and love to do heavy lifts in everything else. In particular I do pretty heavy BPs, HS (Hammer Strength Pulldowns), HS Rows and especiallly HS Seated Triceps Pushdowns. Yesterday, Arm Day (I am in my first week using Epi), I managed a new PR with 5 reps @ 540 lbs (12 X 45lbs). Earlier this week, Back/Shoulders Day, I hit 360 lbs ie 8 plates) for 6 on both the Pulldowns and Rows. I finished the latter workout with 8 reps of Rack Deads @ 365. Now I know none of this means diddlysh*t for powerlifting but it is training I can do which allows me to go heavy and without a full-time training partner. Now the guys in my gym regardless of age go bonkers when they see these weights. I get lots of great feedback. What I don't know is if I have built a base which can convert into some serious Powrlifting competition attempts? Am I just doing the big fish in the small pond routine or does this kind of strength portend a real chance at competition in my age/weight group? Sorry for the long exlaination but do any of you have experience with these HS machines and what is your opinion based on the results I have achieved. Should I take a run at it or am I kidding myself?

Dutchman

Dutchman

Awards
  • Established
you did 540lbs for pushdowns?

Jason
Yes, for reps. With witnesses. If I can crank it up to 600 by summer I will do a video and post it. I try to convince my fellow Old Farts hereabouts that it is OK to still want to go heavy. It not only doesn't hurt it helps in many ways.

tuberman

Awards
  • Established