Creatine and Acute Compartment Syndrome

vision

My gf has been on me for years about all the supplements I take. She has a doctoral degree in psychology and is highly involved in all sorts of research and in contact with a lot of medical professionals. She has always been on my case about creatine and early on tried to point out cases about people who have been hospitalized and died from creatine use. I've always been able to refute any argument she has thrown at me because those people were using an excessive amount of creatine.

Now she says that long term use of creatine has been linked to Acute Compartment Syndrome. She was at a convention when she heard about this from other medical professionals. I did a search on google and only found one case study and again the lifter was using an excessive dose of 25g/day for about a year. However, I was wondering if anyone here has ever experienced this or heard of this new development?

I have been using creatine for 10 years now, cycling responsively and have never experienced any side effects that I know of, except extreme disappointment in my self for trying all the different types of creatine. Yes they got me on almost all of them. Any feedback or thoughts on this topic are greatly appreciated including any other long term side effects anyone may have experienced from using creatine.

Creatine Monohydrate rules!!

yeahright

yeahright

Awards
  • Established
My gf has been on me for years about all the supplements I take. She has a doctoral degree in psychology and is highly involved in all sorts of research and in contact with a lot of medical professionals. She has always been on my case about creatine and early on tried to point out cases about people who have been hospitalized and died from creatine use. I've always been able to refute any argument she has thrown at me because those people were using an excessive amount of creatine.